What is Organic?

I just read an interesting article on LiveWholesome! about how the USDA is proposing to allow 38 new non-organic ingredients in products bearing the “USDA Organic” seal. This is disturbing news to me because I buy as much Organic food as I can afford. Up till today, if I saw a product certified as USDA Organic, that label would be enough for me… but this might change.

The only fortunate thing is that there are other certifying agencies that have real standards of organic. Oregon Tilth continues to certify products and they seem to have the highest standards. I guess in the future, the USDA label will be meaningless and I will only buy items certified by Oregon Tilth.

Here’s a link to the full post: USDA to Allow More Conventional Ingredients in Organics

Leave a Reply

